Skip navigation

As summer goes this has been a very good year for birds. The first to arrive were the Eastern Bluebirds followed by the Rose Breasted Grosbeaks , Ruby-throated Hummingbirds and the Baltimore Orioles.

Eastern Bluebird on Sumac

The Eastern Bluebirds seemed to have a rough year. They apparently tried nesting in several houses and seemed to give up. They spend most of the summer hanging around the windows in my house. The female, in particular liked to perch on my window frame and look into the house. Late in the season they had a small brood. They were around until a few weeks ago. They left shortly after the kids fledged.

Rose-breasted Grosbeaks feeding

The Rose Breasted Grosbeaks were also around most of the summer. I had more of them this year than in years past. They also brought the young birds to the feeder and I was able to capture several shots of them feeding the young. You could always tell when the wanted to be fed because they seem to shutter and shake just before the parent showed up. I saw the last of them a few weeks ago.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird

The Ruby-throated Hummingbirds have also been around all summer. Things seemed slow at first but I only had one feeder out. Turns out someone was guarding that feeder so none of the other birds could drink. I put a second feeder out and that seemed to help. I currently have six feeders in operation and have been going through about two gallons of nectar per week. They seem to be in a feeding binge in preparation for their southern migration which should start in a few weeks

Baltimore Oriole at homemade feeder

I have been presently surprised this summer by the Baltimore Orioles. They usually turn-up in the spring for a week or so and then disappear while they raise their young. Then they reappear after the young have fledged. Normally they don’t spend much time at the feeder but this year they returned and have been at the feeder for the last month. It may have helped that I used a new homemade feeder. I cut the bottom off of a pop bottle and drove a stick through it and then hung it from a pipe on the feeder. It has worked great except that I have to fill it every day. I have gone through almost a gallon of grape jelly so far this season. I suspect they will also be leaving shortly.

More bird photos from the summer can be found on my website.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.