Skip navigation

Some time ago I received an e-mail with “Your Grateful Dead Photo” as the subject line. Since I don’t have any photo of the Grateful Dead I could only assume it was a scam so I didn’t bother to open the e-mail. I received several other e-mails with the same subject line over the next couple of weeks  and ignored them as well.

Several weeks later I received a message on my blog from Rhino Entertainment Company Inquiring about the use of one of my photos on the cover on a boxed set of Grateful Dead Songs entitled “Grateful Dead: Spring 1990: The Other One”

As it turned out they wanted a license to use a line drawing of this photo as part of the artwork for one of the CD covers. It wasn’t one of my better photos but it fit their needs.

Baltimore-Oriole-male-11-5-_0459

The artwork for the  CD cover featured a Baltimore Oriole in the upper right corner.

3 Comments

  1. Wow! How random it is for me to stumble upon the original source for the artwork of one of my favorite Grateful Dead live albums. 3/29/90 is an incredible performance, especially the “Eyes of the World.” I know this was some time ago, but congrats and thank you for your contribution to the cultural fabric!

  2. love the grateful dead entry!

  3. Congratulations, this is so cool!!!!! Love!!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.