Skip navigation

When I first started photographing birds I had to do it from my basement window because I didn’t have the right lenses to photograph them at the feeders. The birds would go to the feeders to get seeds then fly to a lilac bush by the basement window to eat them. This made it easy to get some close shots. Over the years I acquired better lenses and started photographing from my large windows by the feeders. I recently went back to my roots and spent the better part of a day photographing from my basement window.

Dark-eyed Juncos were around in large numbers after being absent for part of the winter.

dark-eyed-junco-17-2-3837

dark-eyed-junco-17-2-3884

Black-capped Chickadees were around in large numbers. This seemed to be their favorite perch for eating.

black-capped-chickadee-17-2-3814

black-capped-chickadee-17-2-3834

There were also a few Northern Cardinals around but they were a little skittish and wouldn’t come near the window.

northern-cardinal-17-2-4187

northern-cardinal-17-2-4165

Leave a Reply

