Skip navigation

I don’t do a lot of abstract photography with the exception of water reflections. Generally I resort to abstract photography when I don’t have anything else to photograph or I’m bored.

Black River Harbor – is one of my favorite places to photograph water reflections. I can easily spend hours under the bridge over the Black River photographing the fall reflections.

Black-River-Harbor--15-10-_2685

The Woods – Several times during the year I walk out into the woods to create some abstract photos. In this case I used a slow speed combined with a neutral density filter. By pointing the camera at the ground and slowly raising it I’m able to capture a different view of the woods.

Canadian-Hill-Farm-15-10-_4604
Duluth Harbor – This photograph was an accident. I was taking some extended exposure photographs of the Duluth Harbor at night. I was on my last photograph when I noticed someone flying a drone and got excited and picked up the camera before the photograph was completed. The blue on the right side of the photograph are from the Bentleyville Tour of Lights.

Abstract-Duluth-Minnesota-15-12-_0564

Little Carp River Leaf Trails – was created when I found a small eddy in the stream where the leaves were moving in a variety of directions. A long exposure created the patterns.

Little-Carp-River-Porcupine-Mountains-15-10-_1914

Wildflowers – This photo was created using a low ISO setting and a neutral density filter. I used a telephoto lens and focused on one part of the photo, poused briefly before moving the lens to take a wider view and then paused again.

Black-eyed-Susans-15-7-_2624

One Comment

    • Sukanya Ramanujan
    • Posted January 19, 2016 at 8:23 AM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Lovely photographs! I like the one of the harbour. I often forget that I put my camera on some settings and get all kinds of weird photographs.


Leave a Reply

