Skip navigation

In all of the time I’ve lived on my farm I have never seen a monarch chrysalis. Shortly after all of the monarch caterpillars had disappeared I noticed this chrysalis attached to the side of my house. What was most amazing to me was the fact that the chrysalis was over 50 feet from the nearest milkweed plant. I wasn’t even sure it was a monarch chrysalis but my wife confirmed it. Over a period of days I photographed it. Once it looked like the butterfly was going to emerge I started checking on it every several house but I still missed the big event. On the last check I found the Monarch Butterfly trying to crawl into the grass. It crawled onto my finger then took flight.

Monarch-chrysalis-15-8-_2460

Monarch-chrysalis-15-8-_2171

Monarch-chrysalis-15-8-_2067

Monarch-Butterfly-15-8-_2090

One Comment

  1. This is amazing and so beautiful. Thank you, love, nia


Leave a Reply

