Skip navigation

I’ve Just been informed that my photo Crex Meadows Sunset has won first place in the Saint Croix River Association annual photo contest. This was one of my favorite photos of the past year.

Sunset-Crex-Meadows

I had been driving around Crex Meadows looking for some sunset shots when I ran across this scene. The light was going quickly and I was struggling though the tall grass and brush to reach a good vantage point. Just as I started to set up the camera I noticed a flight of Sandhill Cranes flying into the scene. I quickly focused the camera and took a couple of shots. This was a case where a beautiful photo was made even better by a flight of birds.

4 Comments

  1. Beautiful photo, Philip. Congrats on the recognition!

  2. Wow…Just stunning! Don’t even think I’ve seen anything like that before. Great timing, great luck with the birds, but also of course great shot!

  3. Good luck. Keep it up. Nice Pictures.

  4. I can see why you love this photo. The Cranes flying in that formation and the streaks of sun escaping through the clouds…. Wonderful!


Leave a Reply

